Talvo vs Olark: a $400 flat AI plan against $0.49 per answered question

Olark's AI plan is $400 a month billed annually with one human seat. Talvo charges per workspace plus $0.49 per resolution. Here is the same team priced both ways and where the lines cross.

Talvo's live visitors view, in front of the analytics dashboard. Shown with our demo workspace.

At a glance

Olark details checked October 21, 2026
ComparedTalvoOlark
Pricing modelPer workspace, plus $0.49 per extra AI resolutionFlat $400 a month AI plan, plus $29 per extra agent
BillingMonthly or annualAI plan shown as annual only ($4,800 a year)
Human seats5 / 15 / 25 by plan, no per-seat fee1 included, then $29 each
AI metering100 / 500 / 2,000 resolutions includedUnlimited conversations, no token limits
5 agents + 1,000 AI conversations$168 annual / $198 monthly$516
Break-even (5 agents)Cheaper below about 2,443 to 2,545 resolutionsCheaper above that
ChannelsWebsite chat and two-way emailWebsite chat; Slack in beta; no email inbox listed
Help centerHosted help center on every planNone shown on the pricing page
IntegrationsREST API, webhooks, SlackHubSpot, Salesforce, Zapier, Shopify, WooCommerce and more
MaturityNew, in beta, no reviewsSince 2009, Y Combinator backed, B Corp
On this page
  1. An AI receptionist or a support desk
  2. Two ways to price an AI agent
  3. Talvo vs Olark: the same team, priced both ways
  4. The break-even against Olark's flat $400 plan
  5. What sits around the AI
  6. An Olark Aiden alternative that answers from your own articles
  7. Where Olark is the better pick
  8. Talvo for an Olark team: plans and gaps
  9. Switching from Olark
  10. Which one to choose
  11. Frequently asked questions

Talvo vs Olark comes down to one question before any price: do you need an AI receptionist for your website, or a support desk that happens to have an AI agent in it?

Olark's main plan is the first. It is $400 a month, billed annually, for an AI website agent with unlimited conversations, one human seat, and nothing metered. Talvo is the second. Its plans are priced per workspace with a per-answer AI meter, and they include a shared inbox with email and a help center. Both pitch predictable pricing, which is why people confuse them, and why this post exists.

We make Talvo, so we took every Olark number from its own pricing and integrations pages, checked on October 21, 2026, and we say where Olark wins. Prices are in US dollars before tax. If you want the wider field of Olark alternatives, our Olark alternatives post prices six of them and explains Olark's three offers. This one stays with two.

An AI receptionist or a support desk

Olark's Standard AI Website Agent, "powered by Aiden", handles visitor conversations around the clock, captures and qualifies leads, runs proactive engagement, updates FAQs and knowledge automatically, and comes with white-glove account management. It is built for a website that gets a lot of visitor traffic, where the job is to catch leads and answer questions before a human is needed. B2B sites are the natural fit.

Talvo's job is different. It is a place where a small team answers customers: a chat widget, an AI agent that answers only from your published help articles, a shared inbox with two-way email, and a hosted help center. The AI is one part of the workflow, not the product.

If you mostly want the first, Olark's plan is built for it. If you want the second, you would be using a receptionist as a help desk, and the missing pieces show up in the monthly bill and the workday.

Two ways to price an AI agent

OlarkTalvo
AI price$400 a month, billed annually ($4,800 a year)Included in plan: 100 / 500 / 2,000 resolutions, then $0.49 each
What is meteredNothing: "no token limits, no overages"AI resolutions (a conversation answered end to end, once, hand-offs free)
Human seats1 included, +$29 per extra agent5 / 15 / 25 teammates by plan, no per-seat fee
Monthly optionNone shown for the AI planYes: $49 / $149 / $299
Annual price$400 a month$39 / $119 / $249 a month
Free option14-day Live Chat trial, free AI previewFree plan: 2 teammates, 25 AI resolutions a month in the beta

Olark's human-only Live Chat plan is $29 per agent a month, and its page doesn't say whether that is billed monthly or annually. Talvo's definition of a resolution is in what counts as an AI resolution.

Talvo vs Olark: the same team, priced both ways

We used three teams: 3, 5 and 10 human agents, with AI handling 300, 1,000 and 3,000 conversations a month. For Talvo we assumed 60% become billable resolutions (180, 600 and 1,800). That 60% is our assumption, not Olark's or Talvo's. Each Talvo cell shows annual billing, then monthly, using the lowest-total plan with enough teammate seats.

TeamOlark AI planOlark Live Chat (no AI)Talvo with AI
3 agents, 300 AI conversations$458$87$78.20 / $88.20
5 agents, 1,000$516$145$168 / $198
10 agents, 3,000$661$290$249 / $299

The arithmetic. Olark's AI plan is $400 plus $29 for each agent past the first: 3 agents is $400 + 2 × $29 = $458 (matching the figure on Olark's own FAQ), 5 agents is $400 + 4 × $29 = $516, and 10 agents is $400 + 9 × $29 = $661. Live Chat is $29 times the agent count: $87, $145, $290.

On Talvo, the 3-agent team fits Starter (5 teammates, 100 resolutions): $39 + 80 × $0.49 = $78.20 annual, or $49 + $39.20 = $88.20 monthly. The 5-agent team does best on Growth (15 teammates, 500 resolutions): $119 + 100 × $0.49 = $168, or $149 + $49 = $198. Starter would cost $284 annual or $294 monthly for it. The 10-agent team is on Scale (25 teammates, 2,000 resolutions, so 1,800 fits inside): $249 or $299.

If the team doesn't need AI at all, Olark's no-AI Live Chat plan is $87, $145 and $290. Talvo's equivalent is its plan price with the allowance unused: Starter at $39 annual or $49 monthly for 3 and 5 people, Growth at $119 or $149 for 10.

A visitor asks how to reset their password and Talvo AI answers in the widget, citing the Resetting your password article.
Talvo's chat widget in our demo workspace: the AI answers from a published help article and cites it. Starter plan and up, or Free's beta allowance.

The break-even against Olark's flat $400 plan

A flat price beats a metered one once volume is high enough. Talvo's bill has a floor and a slope: the plan price, then $0.49 for each resolution beyond the allowance. Olark's has no slope. So there is a volume where Olark becomes cheaper, and we can compute it.

At these team sizes the cheapest Talvo plan near the crossover is Scale, at $249 annual or $299 monthly with 2,000 resolutions included. Talvo passes Olark when $249 + (R − 2,000) × $0.49 equals Olark's price.

TeamOlark AI planTalvo passes Olark at about (annual)At about (monthly)
3 agents$4582,427 resolutions a month2,325
5 agents$5162,5452,443
10 agents$6612,8412,739

The working for the 5-agent team on annual billing: ($516 − $249) ÷ $0.49 = 544.9, so R ≈ 2,545. On monthly billing, ($516 − $299) ÷ $0.49 = 442.9, so R ≈ 2,443. At a 60% resolution rate, 2,545 resolutions means a little over 4,200 AI-handled conversations.

In plain terms: below roughly 2,300 to 2,850 resolutions a month, Talvo is cheaper for these teams. Above it, Olark is, and the gap grows with every extra answer. A team handling 5,000 resolutions a month on 5 agents would pay about $249 + 3,000 × $0.49 = $1,719 on Talvo against $516 on Olark. That is the strongest card Olark has, and we're not going to talk around it.

There are two things the number doesn't capture. Resolutions aren't conversations: Talvo bills only conversations the AI answered end to end, and never a hand-off, while Olark's unlimited covers everything the AI touches. And Olark's price assumes you commit to $4,800 up front, which is a different kind of cost than the monthly bill. Talvo's self-serve plans have no contract and can be changed or canceled in Settings. For the same chart across six tools, see the crossover section of Olark alternatives, and for the per-answer meters generally, AI resolution pricing compared.

What sits around the AI

Price is half of it. The other half is the product around the bot.

Seats. Olark's AI plan includes one human seat, and every other person you add costs $29 a month. Talvo's plans seat 5, 15 or 25 teammates with no per-seat charge, with Viewer, Agent, Admin and Owner roles on every plan.

Channels. Olark's pricing and integrations pages describe website chat, plus a Slack integration marked beta. They don't mention an email inbox, SMS or WhatsApp. Talvo adds two-way email: forward your support address into Talvo, and replies thread back in the same conversation, with attachments in both directions. Neither product offers WhatsApp, SMS, Instagram or Messenger today; on Talvo's side they are on the roadmap.

Help center. Olark's pricing page shows no knowledge base or help center product, though its AI agent updates FAQs and knowledge automatically. Talvo has a hosted public help center on every plan, and its AI answers only from the articles you publish.

A help center hosted by Talvo: search at the top and articles grouped by category.
Talvo's hosted help center, shown with our demo workspace: the same published articles feed the page and the AI agent.

Working the queue. Talvo's shared inbox has shared canned responses with variables, internal notes with @mentions, conversation tags, priority, snooze and "X is replying" warnings on every plan. Growth adds routing rules with round-robin, SLA policies and saved views. On Olark's pricing page, routing and SLAs appear only in the sales-led Custom tier, which lists regional routing, multiple teams and custom SLAs.

Billing terms. Olark's AI plan is shown only as annual. Talvo is monthly or annual.

An Olark Aiden alternative that answers from your own articles

If you are specifically looking for an Olark Aiden alternative, the differences that matter are in how the AI behaves.

Talvo's agent answers only from your published help articles and shows which one it used. It hands off when it isn't confident, when no published article covers the question, or when the AI call fails. The customer is told the team will follow up, asked for an email if Talvo doesn't have one, and the team gets an internal note plus a push and email alert. You can also list topics such as "refund" or "cancel my account" that always go straight to a person, and choose whether the AI answers any time, only outside business hours or only during them. It has no "talk to a person" button in the widget. There is more on this in AI to human handoff.

Olark's pricing page says Aiden updates your FAQ and knowledge automatically and qualifies leads. It doesn't say whether Aiden cites its sources or how a hand-off works, so use the free build preview and your own tough questions before you decide. On Talvo's side, the closest thing to automatic knowledge is the self-writing knowledge base on Growth, which drafts articles from questions the AI couldn't answer. Drafts only help once a human publishes them.

Talvo's AI-drafted articles panel: a suggested article built from questions the AI couldn't answer, with Use draft or Dismiss.
Talvo's self-writing knowledge base, shown with our demo workspace: drafts from unanswered questions that you review and publish. Growth plan and up.

Talvo's AI is built to answer support questions. We don't position it for lead qualification, and its proactive campaigns are plain-text messages shown by URL, delay and returning-visitor rules, once per visitor.

Editing a proactive campaign in Talvo: the message, how many seconds before it shows, an optional page URL, and a returning-visitors-only switch.
A proactive campaign in Talvo, shown with our demo workspace: URL match, a delay in seconds and a returning-visitor toggle. Starter plan and up.

Where Olark is the better pick

More often than a flat comparison suggests.

  • High AI volume. Past roughly 2,300 to 2,850 resolutions a month, Olark's fixed bill wins, and the gap widens.
  • Lead capture. Lead qualification and proactive engagement are central to its AI plan, which suits B2B sites.
  • Integrations. Olark's integrations page lists HubSpot, Salesforce, Zendesk, Front, Help Scout, Zapier, Shopify, WooCommerce, BigCommerce, WordPress, Squarespace, Webflow and others, with plan requirements not stated. Talvo's integrations are a REST API, webhooks and Slack. No Zapier yet, no native Shopify, HubSpot or Salesforce, no WordPress plugin.
  • Maturity and service. Olark has been selling live chat since 2009, is backed by Y Combinator, is B Corp certified, and says it is trusted by more than 12,000 businesses (a vendor claim). It includes white-glove account management. Talvo launched in 2026, is in beta, and has no reviews.
  • A fixed bill. A quiet month and a record month cost the same.
Olark AI plan
Where it's strong
  • Flat $400 a month, no per-resolution fees or token limits
  • Lead capture and qualification, proactive engagement, account management
  • Wide CRM and marketing integration list
  • Selling since 2009, with Y Combinator backing
Watch out for
  • $4,800 up front on annual billing, no monthly option shown
  • One human seat included, then $29 per extra agent
  • Website chat only on its pricing pages; no email inbox listed
Talvo
Where it's strong
  • Free plan, then $39 to $299 a month for 5 to 25 teammates
  • AI billed per resolved conversation, answering from your published articles
  • Email, shared inbox, routing and a hosted help center in one price
Watch out for
  • Costs more than Olark above roughly 2,300 to 2,850 resolutions a month
  • No CRM integrations, no Zapier and a badge that can't be removed
  • New, in beta, no reviews, no SOC 2

Talvo for an Olark team: plans and gaps

On Talvo, a team coming from Olark would start on the Free plan (2 teammates, chat, email, the shared inbox, a help center and 25 AI resolutions a month during the beta) to test the AI on real questions. Paid plans: Starter is $49 monthly or $39 annual for 5 teammates and 100 resolutions; Growth is $149 or $119 for 15 and 500; Scale is $299 or $249 for 25 and 2,000. Extra resolutions are $0.49 each. There is no spending cap on AI, so the only brake is turning the AI off.

The gaps, plainly. "Powered by Talvo" can't be removed and the help center has no custom domain. Talvo imports contacts and help content, not chat history. It has no SOC 2 report, SAML single sign-on or data-region choice. Beyond 25 teammates you are in custom Enterprise pricing.

Switching from Olark

Swapping the widget is quick. History is the part to plan, because chats don't transfer.

  1. Try before you leaveStart on Talvo's Free plan and keep Olark running while you test the AI.
  2. Install the widgetPaste one script tag before </body> and remove Olark's snippet when ready (guide).
  3. Bring help contentCrawl your site or import articles from another help center; they arrive as drafts (how it works).
  4. Import contactsUpload a CSV with name, email, company and phone, up to 2,000 rows.
  5. Forward support emailPoint your support address at Talvo so email lands in the same inbox.
  6. Compare for a weekRun both on part of your traffic and see which questions the AI hands off.

Keep your Olark account until you no longer need old transcripts. If you are on the annual plan, check the renewal date first, since the price is billed yearly.

See what your team would pay on TalvoFree plan, no credit card. Paid plans are priced per workspace, not per seat.
Start free

Which one to choose

Choose Olark if your AI volume is above a few thousand resolutions a month, you want a fixed bill, you rely on its CRM connections and lead qualification, and you are comfortable committing $4,800 a year.

Choose Talvo if you have fewer than roughly 2,300 resolutions a month, want to pay month to month, and want chat, email, a help center and AI answers in one workspace price. If you are still deciding between several tools, best live chat software for small business is a good next stop, and per-seat vs flat pricing explains when each billing model wins.

Which should you choose?

Choose Talvo if
  • you have fewer than roughly 2,300 to 2,850 AI resolutions a month and want to pay month to month
  • you want website chat, two-way email, a help center and AI answers in one workspace price
  • you want 5, 15 or 25 teammates included instead of one seat plus $29 each
  • you can do without CRM integrations and accept a beta product with no reviews
Choose Olark if
  • your AI volume is high and you want a fixed bill with no per-resolution fees
  • you rely on its HubSpot, Salesforce or other CRM and marketing integrations
  • lead capture and qualification on a B2B site is the main job of the AI
  • you want a mature vendor with account management and are comfortable committing $4,800 a year

Frequently asked questions

Is Talvo cheaper than Olark?

At moderate volume, yes. A 5-agent team with 600 AI resolutions pays $168 annual or $198 monthly on Talvo against $516 on Olark's AI plan. Above roughly 2,443 to 2,545 resolutions a month for that team, Olark's flat fee is cheaper.

How much does Olark's AI plan cost?

$400 a month, billed annually ($4,800 a year), including one human agent seat and unlimited visitor conversations. Additional human agents are $29 each per month, so Olark's own FAQ shows $429 for two agents and $458 for three. Its pricing page shows no monthly option for the AI plan.

What is Olark Aiden?

Aiden is the AI engine behind Olark's Standard AI Website Agent. According to Olark's pricing page, it handles visitor conversations 24/7, captures and qualifies leads, runs proactive engagement and updates FAQs and knowledge automatically, with no token limits or overages.

What is a good Olark Aiden alternative?

Talvo is one if you want AI that answers only from published help articles, shows which one it used and hands off to a person when unsure. It bills $0.49 per resolved conversation past the plan allowance. Olark remains the better fit if lead qualification and unlimited AI volume matter most.

Does Olark have an email inbox or a help center?

Olark's pricing and integrations pages describe website chat, with Slack as a beta integration, and list neither an email inbox nor a help center product. Talvo includes two-way email in its shared inbox and a hosted help center on every plan.

Where do Talvo and Olark cost the same?

For a 5-agent team the lines cross at about 2,545 resolutions a month on Talvo's annual billing and 2,443 on monthly billing. Resolutions are not conversations: Talvo bills only conversations the AI answered end to end, and never a hand-off, so compare your own counts.

Does Talvo integrate with HubSpot or Salesforce like Olark?

No. Talvo's integrations today are a REST API, webhooks and Slack, with no Zapier, native Shopify, HubSpot or Salesforce connection. Olark's integrations page lists HubSpot, Salesforce, Zapier, Shopify, WooCommerce and others, though it does not state which plans include them.

Can I try either before committing?

Olark offers a 14-day free trial of Live Chat with no credit card and a free Build Preview of its AI agent. Talvo has a Free plan with 2 teammates and 25 AI resolutions a month during the beta, and its paid plans have no contract.

Sources

Other products' prices and features change. We checked these pages on October 21, 2026; if something is out of date, tell us and we'll fix it.

Let the agent take the first shift.

Three steps, and the agent is answering.

  1. Add the messengerOne script tag, just before </body>.Install the chat widget
  2. Import your help centerCrawl your own site, or bring your articles over from your old help desk.Import by crawling your site
  3. Invite your teamOne flat price for the workspace, up to your plan's teammate cap.Invite your team
Free forever plan · no credit card
<!-- Settings → Chat widget → copy your snippet -->
<script async src="https://talvo.chat/_api/widget/loader?app=your-app-id"></script>
</body>